Autumn Reflections

acornFall has never been my favorite season.  Despite the beauty of the changing leaves, for me it always represented to the end of green growing things and the coming winter.  It has also been a time of endings in my life.  This fall, I’ve found myself spending more time getting to really understand what this season is all about from a spiritual point of view – to see the beauty in the season and the gifts that it holds.

The image that came through this season for my Raise Your Vibration call where we connected with Archangel Uriel was of a squirrel chewing acorns and digging holes to bury them.  In the image, the ground was completely covered with acorns.  When I asked for guidance on the image, I heard that we have done a lot of work really getting to know who we are this year and shifting our vibration to be more in alignment with our true nature.  This work has brought forth a lot of opportunity (in the form of acorns), but the acorns need to be planted to have a chance to grow.

So how do we help them to get planted? 

In pondering this, I was reminded of a passage from The Prophet by Kahlil Gibran:

“And a woman spoke, saying, Tell us of pain.  And he said:  Your pain is the breaking of the shell that encloses your understanding.  Even as the stone of the fruit must break, that its heart may stand in the sun, so must you know pain.  And could you keep your heart in wonder at the daily miracles of your life, your pain would not seem less wondrous than your joy: And you could accept the seasons of your heart, even as you have always accepted the seasons that pass over your fields. And you would watch with serenity through the winters of your grief.” 

For many of us, this season has brought pain.  Relationships have changed or ended. Dreams have dissipated or been put on hold.   Illness has descended.  And for those of us in the Northern states, watching the leaves change colors and fall reminds us that the cold and often bitter winter lies ahead, bringing with it isolation and separation from nature.

So how do we use these experiences to plant the acorns?

This morning, I was meditating and listening to one of my Spirit Guides.  He was advising me to start falling in love with everything.  As I tried out this idea, repeating I am in love with the warm blanket covering me.  I am in love with the soft puppy snuggling against me.  I am in love with the warmth from the heater.  I am in love with my husband, sleeping quietly.  I could feel my system relaxing and becoming more peaceful.  He then asked me to start with myself.  What was I in love with about myself?  I started with being in love with my heart, my brain, my organs, my skin.  I repeated I am in love with my legs, my feet, my arms, my hands.  As I said the words, I could feel that part of my body opening up and expanding.  And then he asked me to be in love with what I was feeling.  I felt inside myself and realized that I was still feeling a great deal of sadness and pain.  So I said, I am in love with my pain.  I felt my heart opening, but found myself stopping.

Was that true?  Was I in love with my pain and if so, why?  What benefit is there to being in love with pain?  Wouldn’t that just bring more of it?

And then I remembered something I’d read a long time ago.  It was in a book called The Quest by Tom Brown Jr.  In it, he shares about an experience he had on a vision quest in the forest.  He had been working with a Native American man he called Grandfather who had been training him to see into the world that was Unseen – the Spirit World.  In that learning, he discovered something he called the Stalker.  Throughout the book, he tried so many different things to defeat the Stalker.  He tried to kill it and to outwit it, but nothing worked.  Finally, when he was about to be devoured by it, he chose instead to love it.  And and in loving it, it disappeared.

My Spirit Guide nodded in agreement with this and then pointed out another fact. As with the acorn, when the shell is broken open and its time in that form ends, it is really not a death.  The acorn is just changing form and getting ready to bring life to something new and wondrous.  I reflected on that and also on my own experiences where old forms broke down and brought significant change.  As I did this, I could see that the metaphor was true for me also.  The breaking down of the relationships and experiences in my life had all brought new understanding, new connections, and new joy.

Why would this time be any different?

So today, I’m going to stay in the day I am in and do the best I can to “fall in love with” it all.  I will be in love with my strengths and my weaknesses.  I will be in love with my successes and my mistakes.  I will be in love with what I feel – both the light and the dark.

And finally, I will be in love with when I can do this and when I can’t.

After all, I am choosing to be in love with it all right?Zippy bed

Wishing you much love and joy in the journey!

Nancy

Autumn Foliage Along a Calm Lake

 

 

 

 

 

About Nancy Nicholas-Intuitive Life Coach

Nancy Nicholas is an intuitive life coach. Her clients are often struggling with feelings of powerlessness because of a health situation, relationship, their sensitivity, or their career. She provides spiritual insight with practical coaching to empower them to create positive change and greater well-being. Check out her blog website for information on empowerment readings, clubs, programs, and more! http://www.EmpoweringLightworkers.com

Posted on November 2, 2014, in Grow Your Spiritual Gifts, Nurture Yourself and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Thank you for the message Nancy!!

    I hope to be a part of your community soon.

    Fondly,

    Maryann Baker

  2. I love this, Nancy. Thank you. I love you and all you share; so appreciated. (And your puppy is adorable.) – Anne 🙂

  3. Dearest Nancy,

    Thank you for the message of the acorn and love. Perhaps it is time for me to revisit the book, Loving What Is by Byron Katie 🙂

    Love and Light, Lisa

Leave a Reply

